Stuffed Peppers

As promised, here is a great recipe that I’ve used more than once already! I had actually made these several times before I decided to stop eating meat, so I trusted them to become a staple in my diet.

Firstly, I’m sure many of you are wondering how I plan meals when I live with someone who hasn’t decided to give up meat. It’s actually a lot easier than I expected. This is Dan…

Dan is my domestic partner, and isn’t he just a hunk and a half. Like I said, Dan hasn’t made the decision to give up meat. He respects my choice, and I work hard to make sure he has full, balanced meals. How? The butcher at our grocery store has become my new best friend (no, seriously… he engages me in very long, awkward conversations about being a vegetarian, where I work, and Dan, that’s a blog post in itself). I plan our meals around one large vegetable-based item and then I cook or somehow add meat for Dan.

The butcher is absolutely amazing. We’re saving a lot of money and we aren’t wasting nearly as much food! Before I stopped eating meat, I would just buy a pound of hamburger or four chicken breasts for dinner. We’d have leftovers for days after every meal. Now I can purchase one pork chop, or two chicken breasts, or just one steak and it’s the perfect amount!

Now, before I jump into this recipe, I should probably describe my methods of cooking. When I give you a recipe, I will give you “exact” measurements. What you should know is that I never follow “exact” measurements. I always alter recipes according to our tastes. I will try to remember to point out places when I do this, but it’s probably just a good thing to keep in mind.

Ok, Spicy Black Bean Stuffed Peppers. This recipe appears on Can You Stay for Dinner which is an absolutely AMAZING recipe blog.

(Photo Credit: Can You Stay For Dinner)

Spicy Black Bean Stuffed Peppers

(serves 2)

  • 2 small peppers- any kind you’d like
  • 1/2 medium sized onion, diced
  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  • 1 TBSP olive oil
  • 1, 15 oz can black beans, drained and rinsed
  • 1/4 cup water
  • 2 tsp cumin
  • 2 tsp chili powder
  • 1/2 tsp smoked paprika
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • pinch cayenne pepper for a little heat
  • 1/2 cup sweet corn
  • 1/2 cup shredded Colby Jack cheese, or any cheese you like
  • fresh cilantro, salsa, and sour cream for serving
  1. Preheat oven to 400°F. Cut a slit through the entire length of each of your peppers. Place them on a baking sheet and roast for 15 minutes, until the skins are softened and beginning to blister.
  2. Heat olive oil in a small saucepan set over medium heat. Add your onion and saute for 3 minutes, until beginning to soften and turn translucent.
  3. Add garlic and stir constantly for 30 seconds, until fragrant.
  4. Stir in your black beans along with the water.
  5. Add your cumin, chili powder, paprika, salt, and cayenne. Stir, cover the pot, reduce the heat to low and simmer the beans for at least 15 minutes, but up to 30 minutes.
  6. Stir in corn. Divide the bean mixture evenly among the two peppers and sprinkle with cheese.
  7. Broil for 3 minutes, until the cheese is melted and bubbling. Garnish with fresh cilantro, salsa, and sour cream if you’d like.

I follow this recipe, basically, to a T. I, of course, never actually measure spices. I just sort of sprinkle till I’m satisfied. Also, anytime a recipe calls for cumin, I lay it on heavy. I’m not sure why cumin is my favorite spice, but it has a serious place in my heart (it could stem from my love for tacos…..). I’ve tried this with several different types of peppers, and my favorite just happen to be red bell peppers. I think it’s their tangy flavor.

For that hunk in my life, I will buy half a pound of sausage or hamburger and add the meat with the beans and corn. These peppers paired with Spanish Rice or just your basic chips and guac makes a PERFECT dinner!

I hope you enjoy this! Even if you do eat meat, just follow my hunk-recipe. I’m telling you, these are absolutely fantastic.

 

Leave a Reply

